NYS Teacher Loan Forgiveness Program

Teachers serving hard-to-staff districts or who teach in subject shortage areas in New York State can apply for loan forgiveness.

  • Certified as a teacher in NYS

  • Employed full-time in an elementary or secondary school in NYS

  • Teach in either a subject-shortage area or a hard-to-staff district

  • NYS resident for 12 continuous months prior to application

  • Have an outstanding balance on an eligible student loan debt

NYS Teacher Loan Forgiveness Program is no longer available for new applicants.

NYS Teacher Loan Forgiveness Program is no longer available for new applicants.
Amount

$5,000

Award amount determined by: 

  • The maximum lifetime award under this Program is $20,000, or the applicant's actual eligible student loan indebtedness at the time eligibility is established, whichever is less. 
  • Awards will be paid in annual disbursements up to $5,000.
Frequency

Annual

Award is granted on an annual basis.

Duration

Up to 4 years.

Any loan forgiveness award payments received may have tax implications. A 1099 form will be issued by the NYS Office of the State Comptroller reflecting the total loan forgiveness payment assistance received by the recipient for the year. Any questions regarding potential tax implications should be directed to a tax professional, the Internal Revenue Service, or the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance.

Undocumented and other immigrant students: before submitting your application material, apply for eligibility under the NYS DREAM Act.

You can receive loan if you meet the following residency requirements: 

  • You must be a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen.
  • You must be a legal resident of New York State who has resided in New York State for 12 continuous months.

Not a citizen or eligible noncitizen? Learn more about the NYS DREAM Act

Eligible Student Loans

Eligible student loans include NYS or federal government loans, or private student loans made by commercial entities subject to governmental examination used to fund an undergraduate or graduate degree from a college or university.

Parent PLUS loans are not eligible. private loans given by family or personal acquaintances; student loan debt paid by credit card; Ineligible loans also include non-educational student loan consolidations and home equity loans used to pay off student loans.

  • Certified as a teacher in NYS.
  • Employed full-time in an elementary or secondary school in NYS.
  • Teach in either a subject shortage area or a hard-to-staff district in both the current and previous school years.

There is no income requirement or limit.

Financial Status

To receive the loan forgiveness, you must:

  • Be in good standing (a non-default status) on a student loan made under any NYS or federal education loan program or on the repayment of any NYS award, and:
  • Be in compliance with the terms of the service condition(s) imposed by any NYS award that you have previously received.

Have Questions? 

Schedule a Call
HESC is here to answer your questions or help you with a specific issue. 

Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Request an Appointment