HESC’s Board of Trustees consists of 15 members, including the commissioner of education, the chancellor of the State University of New York (“SUNY”), the chancellor of the City University of New York (“CUNY”), the president of the SUNY student assembly, and the chair of the CUNY student senate, who serve as ex-officio members. In addition, nine members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, and one SUNY community college student is appointed by the Governor without Senate confirmation. The members appointed by the governor represent New York State banking institutions, independent colleges, licensed private career schools, college financial aid officers, students, and members of the public.

HESC Board of Trustees MembersMember County of ResidenceCurrent Term Expires
Dr. Victor G. Alicea, Ph.D.
Boricua College
New York County6/30/20
(holdover status)
Ms. Salimatou Doumbouya
Chairperson, University Student Senate
of The City University of New York
Kings CountyEx-officio
Dr. David Harris
Union College
Schenectady County6/30/29
Mr. Marc M. Jerome
Monroe College
Suffolk County6/30/22
(holdover status)
Dr. John B. King Jr.
State University of New York
Saratoga CountyEx-officio
Ms. Becky Maxson
Deputy Director for Compliance Policy
Cornell University
Tompkins County6/30/24
Jennessa Perez
Cornell University
Tompkins County3/27/30 (or at graduation, whichever comes first)
Dr. Manuel J. Rivera
Associate Professor
K-12 Education Leadership Program, Warner Graduate School of Education
University of Rochester
Monroe County6/30/28
Dr. Félix V. Matos Rodríguez
City University of New York

Designee: Reine Sarmiento
Kings CountyEx-officio
Dr. Betty A. Rosa 
NYS Education Department 

Designee: William Murphy
Montgomery CountyEx-officio
Mr. Alexander Ruiz
President, SUNY Student Assembly
State University of New York - Geneseo
Livingston CountyEx-officio
Isaac Torres
Senior Vice President, General Counsel
Carver Bank
Nassau County6/30/30

Four Member Vacancies

One from Banking Institutions

One president or chief executive or officer of a licensed private career school

One SUNY community college student